A step will be deemed completed in several different ways:

If the deadline has passed, then the step will be deemed closed.  You can reopen easily by adjusting its deadline by editing the step. 

A step can also be closed by the project lead(s).  When you complete the step, you have the option to: 

  • Choose a record or several records
  • Upload a new record
  • Choose to close without a final record. 

Once a step is completed, the step will no longer be published to the community - however it will accept contributions until the Project is Completed.